Academic Quality

LCCM is a private higher education college and an approved institution of The Open University. Governance of the college is defined by:

  • the Quality Assurance Agency (QAA) UK Quality Code
  • the OU Academic Regulations
  • an Independent Board of Governors in line with the Committee of University Chairs (CUC) Higher Education Code of Governance.

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors have ultimate legal responsibility for LCCM including compliance with UK company law and all other relevant laws, regulations and codes of practice.  There are a minimum of three members. The current membership is:

  • Paul Brereton (Chair)
  • Keith Bartlett
  • Kathy O’Brien
  • Stuart Bartram

The Board of Governors delegate responsibility to a chain of committees. Academic matters are led by the Academic Board. Organisational matters are supervised by the Senior Management Team.

Academic Governance

1 Academic Board

The Academic Board is responsible for teaching, learning and assessment at LCCM. It ensures the college’s programmes meet academic standards and are monitored and enhanced systematically.  The membership is detailed below:

  • Keith Bartlett (Chair)
  • Pat Cotton (Programme Leader BMus Performance and Production)
  • KT Forster (Programme Leader BA Creative and Professional Writing)
  • David Harvey (Programme Leader BSc Digital Product Development)
  • Dave Wibberley (Programme Leader BA Music Industry Management)
  • Denise Stanley (Programme Leader MA Creative Entrepreneurship)
  • Patrick Mitchell (Lead Student Representative)
  • Paula Burn (Academic Quality)
  • Darius Khwaja (Principal)
  • Donna Wright (OU Quality Partnerships Manager)

2 Programme Committees

Each programme has a Programme Committee. Each committee is chaired by a programme leader and has a membership of senior academics and students. Programme Committees submit annual reports and action plans to the Academic Board.

3 Staff Student Forums

Staff student forums provide a formal opportunity for staff and students to discuss the continuous enhancement of their programme.  There are appointed student representatives who are members of the forum with the programme leader however all students and tutors involved with the programme are eligible to attend.

Organisational Management

1 Senior Management Team (SMT)

Led by the Principal, the SMT is responsible for delivering the college’s strategic mission and managing LCCM on a daily basis. Membership of the SMT consists of the heads of each operational department and the chair of the student committee.


  • Darius Khwaja (Principal and Chair)
  • Alan Hemsley (Director of Finance)
  • Kelli Wolfe (Student Services)
  • Paula Burn (Academic Quality)
  • Geoff Hemsley (Resources)
  • Nick Granville (Information Technology)
  • Patrick Mitchell (Chair, Student Committee)

2 Operational Departments

All staff within each department meet monthly to monitor annual objectives, assess active action plans and suggest strategic enhancements. These meetings enable swift and effective resolution to comments and concerns, and help define the focus of SMT meetings.

3 Student Committee

The student committee is the representative body for all higher education students at the college. The committee consists of elected students from each programme and is responsible for helping to monitor and enhance the wider student experience at LCCM including extra-curricula and social activities.

Academic Regulations and Policies

Quality Assurance

Internal Quality Assurance

LCCM prepares an Annual Institutional Review which includes:

  • Feedback from students, staff and stakeholders
  • Statistical analysis of key performance indicators
  • Programme monitoring and evaluation
  • Government agency metrics

This informs future strategic enhancement, short-term action plans and medium term objectives to continually improve the student experience at LCCM.

 External Quality Assurance

The academic standards of LCCM are regulated and reviewed by a range of external bodies:

Quality Assurance Agency (QAA).

LCCM has undergone a HER (AP) review for educational oversight by the Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education (QAA) and has received its final report, which is available in full here

Our action plan following our HER (AP) in November 2016 is available in full here

The Open University (OU) is the validating body for all LCCM programmes.

External Examiners

All programmes have a dedicated External Examiner to ensure consistency of assessment across the sector.  LCCM’s current EE’s are:

Ralph Salmins

  • BMus Music Performance & Production
  • Cert HE Music Performance
  • Cert HE Creative Music Practice

Prof. Venu Dhupa

  • MA Creative Entrepreneurship

Other Agencies

We have the following other designations and licenses: